Gluten free pasta (here gluten free tagliatelle) is suitable for gluten intolerants, all our gluten free produtcs have been analyzed by an independent laboratory and received the «GLUTEN FREE» certification.
Gluten is a general name for the proteins found in wheat (wheatberries, durum, emmer, semolina, spelt, farina, farro, graham, KAMUT® khorasan wheat and einkorn), rye, barley and triticale – a cross between wheat and rye. Gluten helps foods maintain their shape, acting as a glue that holds food together. Gluten can be found in many types of foods, even ones that would not be expected.
GLUTEN FREE DIET
You may be wondering about a gluten-free diet for many reasons. Maybe you were recently diagnosed with celiac disease. Or a classmate of your child’s can’t eat gluten. You may have noticed restaurant menu selections marked as gluten free or all the foods in natural food stores that are labeled gluten free. Whatever the reason, you want to know, “what exactly is a gluten-free diet?”
A gluten-free diet does not include the grains wheat, barley, rye, or hybrids of these grains. This includes all varieties and forms of these grains, such as spelt (a type of wheat) and malt (made from barley).
A gluten-free diet is called a gluten-free diet because the grains that must be avoided all contain a protein called gluten.
Most people who follow a gluten-free diet have celiac disease, a serious genetically-based autoimmune disease. When gluten is eaten by a person with celiac disease it triggers an immune system reaction that damages the lining of the small intestine. When the lining of the small intestine is damaged, nutrients can not be properly absorbed. Once gluten is completely removed from the diet the intestine is able to heal.